To paint or not to paint…that is the question

Ok, I need some help.  I have this beautiful piece of furniture that was passed down to me from my grandmother.  It is an antique daybed and it is gooorgeous. Just.plain.gorgeous.  She is quite a looker, I tell ya!  All the little details are beautiful…the cane backing, the swirly, curly q legs with the floral markings, but, let’s be honest, she needs some freshening up.  Not to mention she could use some fresh fabric and new pillows.

Here is a picture of her from the front…sorry the photo is a little grainy.

My initial thought was to go and get some restorative furniture polish to bring back her shine and I may still stick with that.  However, I started seeing all these painted daybeds popping up out of nowhere and I just cannot get them out of my head.  I have a problem…I dream of painted daybeds.  What???  You think that’s strange!?!?  Ok…it is weird, I know.  But, just look at how puuuurty they are.

via Pinterest

via Ballard Designs

via Ballard Designs

via Ballard Designs

I cannot list the info for this pic because I quickly snapped the pic out of a magazine when I was waiting in line at Lowes...sorry! If you know what it's from, please let me know. It's hard to see, but it is a beautiful rich blue color with a slight distressed feel

There is something about the way that the paint and glaze makes all those little details on each of the beds pop.  I want my daybed to be a showstopper…she deserves to steal all of the attention when you walk into our office.  She has a lot of history and truth be told she is just a touch needy.  At this point in time, as beautiful as she is, she doesn’t really get noticed.

Now, I just want to clarify that a.  yes, I dream of painted furniture and sometimes give my furniture personality traits and b. I have a lot of furniture pieces in my house that are not painted.  I do show some restraint.  I do think there is something so lovely about natural wood tones.  They can be stunning all on their own.  So, I know, sometimes it’s best just to leave a piece alone.

So, tell me what you think…paint or no paint???  Help me make a decision…look below and click “leave a comment” and give it to me straight…I promise I can take it.

11 thoughts on “To paint or not to paint…that is the question

  1. It’s an amazing piece indeed- My vote is Paint! It is very nice as is, but you know I love the ASCP! Have you been to the store that carries it in St. Louis. A friend and I are waiting to take a class – Would love for you to join us.

    • Thanks, Michele! I’ve just visited their website and I am so happy to be able to order from somewhere so close. I had heard through the grapevine that Annie Sloan herself was going to be making a work shop tour in the States early 2012 and I think I am holding out for one of those! Would you be interested?

  2. Wow, that IS a toughy!! My first thought was “heck yeah, paint it…it’s fun!” but THEN I saw the photos and I kinda changed my thinking. It’s an absolutely gorgeous piece of furniture! You’re so right! Honestly, I think it would truly look fantastic either way. However, my final suggestion would be to NOT paint the daybed but instead REALLY spice it up with color for the fabric and pillows to make a big statement and give it that “personality” you’re looking for! P.S. I love your blog!

  3. Jesse you are so anal about painting, why do you even ask that question? Instead it should be questions like “should I paint the wood floor” or “do you think a cutting board would look good painted”. Jesse I would not paint the antique day bed, give it a coat of tung oil or a good restoration oil and allow the natural patina, that has taken decades to form, to come out. Focus on the upholstery it might do you some good to think outside the box of painting.

    • Thanks Rachel! I know I am at a total loss of what to do…I am hoping once I decide on fabric that it will help make it easier to figure out! I just checked out your cute blog and it is so fun to meet others that are just getting started in the giiiinormous world of blogging. And so far, I totally agree with you, the blog kind of motivates me to get all my projects done and crossed off my “to do” list!

  4. Pingback: Changing things up | scoutandnimble

Leave a Reply

