Feeling Blue? La la la la la la

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could have said feeling smurfy?  Or maybe ELECTRIC?! I swear the whole time I was painting this thing, I kept singing Eddy Grant’s Electric Avenue lyrics, you know…

WE’RE GONNA ROCK DOWN TO ELECTRIC AVENUE

AND THEN WE’LL TAKE IT HIGHER

Unfortunately for me (and Sam) that was the only part of the song I could remember… and, of course, when you sing it you have to use the robot voice.  I will apologize now because it totally gets stuck in your head…sorry.  Throughout the evening that I was painting, I would occasionally hear Sam just start singing the lyrics quickly followed by that Homer Simpson, D’oh, Jesse!!!  It made me laugh…HARD. But what was funnier was that he couldn’t remember any of the other lyrics either! Have no fear, here is the song on youtube with the lyrics if it starts driving you crazy when you cannot remember how the rest of the song goes.  Your welcome 😉

I got this secretary from a friend of mine and painted it in Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint in Greek Blue.  I used ASCP in Old White on the pulls and in the outlines.  I then gave it a thin coat of Annie Sloan’s clear wax, distressed it and followed that with some more clear and dark wax (the dark helped tone down the brightness of the blue).

It’s still bright, but am loving the color…I think it would be perfect for a girl or boy’s room.  Or a mama’s room…hmmmmm

And the best part about this piece?  The fact that the mess can simply be hidden by closing the door…much like a closet.  Gotta love that.  Oh, and I spray painted those little inserts in there white.  Pretty, huh?  They are the perfect sized place to store notecards, stationary, or bills…yes even stupid bills.

I’ll be linking this beauty up at these furniture parties here and here!

13 thoughts on “Feeling Blue? La la la la la la

  1. okay, this is darn awesome. really, it is. i’m a huge fan of the annie sloan COLORS—esp greek blue! aren’t they amazing? can’t wait to see what you do next!

    amy (visiting from MMS)

  2. I’m hearnin’…Don’t it make my brown eyes, don’t it make my brown eyes, don’t it make my brown eyes blue…

    But that’s not near as fun as …Out in the streets…Out in the streets… Rock it in the daytime
    Rock it in the night…

  3. I really love this Jess. I would love to re-due Avery’s wooden bunk bed and dresser. Did you have to sand it down before you painted it?

    • Well, it depends on what paint you use. If you are wanting to go with Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint (which is what I totally recommend using) then no, you do not have to sand or prime the furniture. Pick the color you like, get the wax and you are ready to rock n roll! If you have any questions, let me know! I love the stuff and they have a ton of colors to choose from!

    • Thank you so much Shaunna! I absolutely heart your blog!!! Congratulations on all the exciting things that you are in the process of! I’m absolutely thrilled for you! Thank you for creating a place where we can all share & gather inspiration!

  4. Pingback: Highlights and what’s ahead | scoutandnimble

Leave a Reply

