Rockin the wreath…well, for a few days, at least

While Sam Sam the buck hunter man was out for opening weekend, the boys & I decided to head down to my parents house to hang out with my sweet mama.

The weather was absolutely beautiful & I think we squeezed in more activities in those 3 days than what I usually do in a whole week!  This mommy girl is worn out!

One of the days, my mom took Henry to Bass Pro…he asks to go every time we go into town…you think he’s following in his daddy’s footsteps???  Well, Oliver and I spent the morning roaming the yard and discovered acorns galore.  They were everywhere.  Which got my wheels a turning.  When Henry got home, we all went out to collect them in a big bin…I knew exactly what I wanted to do with them nuts.

The boys had a wonderful time picking these guys up.  Ah, such a simple thing brought so many laughs.

This little dude picked up just about everything in front of him and placed it in the bin.  What a big helper, huh?  Ummm, Oliver…you got a lil something right there, yea, apparently your mom is terrible at getting you cleaned up after lunch.

You wanna see what we made with all those acorns when we got back to Columbia?

I don’t know about you, but I love to put Christmas decorations up immediately after Thanksgiving.  So, that means that this lil nutty wreath will only be chillin with us for like  10 days!?!  Hmm…I think I may have something up my sleeve to allow him to stay out a bit longer.  Stay tuned for that.  But, in the meantime, if you happen to have a ton of acorns in your yard and you want to squeeze in that last little bit of fall decorating, this is the perfect thing for you!  Incredibly cheap and fairly to easy to do.  This little project cost me a whopping $2!!!  Here are the items you need:

  • Hot glue gun and sticks (I had on hand)
  • any kind of wreath (I got the mine for $2…it was 50% off at Hobby Lobby)
  • a ton of acorns…these babies are free…go to any park and surely you will find em
  • ribbon

There are a ton of tutorials online that you can find on how to make an acorn wreath.  I’m just going to tell you how we did ours.

First, go out and gather your acorns.

It helps to have someone like this present to make sure there is no eating of the acorns

Then, have your little helpers help you rinse of all of your treasures and…this is a VERY IMPORTANT step…stick your acorns in the oven for about 15 minutes at 300 degrees.  Again…VERY IMPORTANT.  Unless you want a wreath with maggots critters coming out of it…okidoki…moving right along.

Ahem, It was at this time that Sam and I could not stop with the nut jokes…I know, pardon our immaturity…but I mean come on…cooked nuts?  I won’t get into details, I’m sure you can think of some funny one liners when you substitute “nuts” for “acorns” in a sentence.  If you want to have a good laugh take on this project.  My mom even texted me this harmless question: “Are the acorns stinky since your cooking them?”  I, of course, had to rope her into the joke and hit her back with “no…we have no stinky nuts here…only hot nuts.”  😉  Oh those nut jokes…they never get old.  The fact that we were lacking sleep and exhausted from the weekend may have had something to do with the hilarity of the nut humor.

Now, I recommend getting your helpers set up doing something else because hot glue and kiddos just don’t mix.  It’s all mama’s work from here.  I didn’t really have much of a plan here as I was gluing the acorns on…I started with straight lines and they became diagonal when I finished.

Then grab a pretty ribbon or fabric one and tie it around your beauty.  Hang that baby up and viola, your done!

9 thoughts on “Rockin the wreath…well, for a few days, at least

    • Yes, Heather! I actually just spray painted it white for the holidays & I’m thinking I will do a nice spring color come April! We will see how long it lasts! 😉 Thank you for the comment! I’m so glad you stopped by!

    • Thank you Heather! I would think you would be able to keep it no problem. I just spray painted it a glossy white for the holidays & I am thinking a fun spring color would look great come April! We will see how long it lasts & how many coats of paint it will hold! 😉 Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

