A Peachy Tale: The Transformation of Chargers

Several Goodwill trips ago, I had found some scratched up Pier 1 wood chargers…they still had the original sticker on them and were marked from $12 a charger to one lil buckaroo a piece.  Eight dollars later, they were all mine.  Sure, they were not in the best of shape, but I knew that a quick paint job with some Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint would have them looking good as new in no time.  Of course, I failed to get a before pic of the charger, but you can kind of see it underneath my grandmother’s china in the pic below.

I quickly brought them home and then in the garage they sat…staring at me every time I went in and out of the house…collecting dust day after day.  I was totally having ‘painter’s block’…which is a very serious condition especially in my house because Sam Sam the sometimes anti-project man cannot stand to see my projects piling up.  Yep, nothing is worse for him than to see me stall out.  But, my theory is this…if you are not sure about something, sit on it for a couple of days, then revisit.  If you are still coming up with nothing, then just jump in and try not to over think anything.  It was time for me to jump in on the charger project and go with whatever color popped into my mind first.

I had Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint in Barcelona Orange & Pure White sitting out from some other projects that I had been working on so I thought, why not mix the two?  I also just might have been slightly inspired by these peach carnations that have been on our table for the past two weeks, too.  Who knows?

I was definitely feeling a little peachy that day…I’m telling you, Spring has really gotten to me this year…I’m completely obsessed with everything Spring!  Plus, I thought the color would be a perfect compliment to the blues, grays, and greens in our eating area.

One of the best things about Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint is you can mix the colors to create your own perfect shade.  The easiest thing you can do to extend the range of colors is to  add in one, two, or three parts Pure White or Old White to whatever color you are wanting.  For example, below, they started with Emperor’s Silk and came up with 4 other shades just by adding in more and more Pure White.

Adding Old White To create my “peach” color, I used about 4 parts Pure White to 1 part Barcelona Orange.

Of course, Cooper, aka “The Ham” sees me taking pictures and has to get in on the action.

This peachy transformation project only took about 20 minutes.  Once I was finished I was giddy because I loved the color and was thrilled with the fact that it went so well with my grandmother’s antique serving pieces.  However, as much as I loved the peach, I started to get nervous.  Peach was definitely out of my comfort zone…I wanted these chargers to be versatile enough to be used all year long.  Could I work in the color peach in the winter months?  Is peach too Spring-ey?

I quickly started playing with color combinations in my head and soon realized that I could make peach work all year long.  But, just to reassure myself even further, (because that is so my personality) I went online to “pin” pictures of just how versatile peach could be.  Check it out…peach is much more versatile than I ever gave her credit for.  After looking at these, you may just want to bring some peach into your own home.

This setting & color scheme would be perfect for Spring, Easter, Mother’s Day or even a wedding or baby shower.

via 

And what about adding in some royal blue and white for summer?  Fabulous.  And speaking of fabulous, how about that monochromatic clothespin banner???  Looooove.

via 

I am all about this crisp, bright, modern look…I realize that peach is not in the picture, but I think it would look fantastic thrown in there.

via

You wondering about Fall?  Incorporate some natural elements like wood or something unexpected like feathers and you’ve got perfection.

pink-peach-ribbons-table-setting-ideas

via

And, of course, I couldn’t help to think of pairing peach with some silver and gold for a fun cocktail party or New Year’s Eve.

Stylish table setting

via

Going for glam?  Peach can be glam…

pech + new years...glitz & glam

via

Or something a little more classic?

via

 You can even decorate the peach color scheme with actual peaches.  Makes me want a bellini.

via

Just looking at these pictures of color schemes below had me inspired.

Jennifer Price Horse Ribbon Frame

via

via

spring pastels

via

So are you sold on peach, yet?  I totally am.

One thought on “A Peachy Tale: The Transformation of Chargers

  1. Martha Stewart better watch out. Honestly, you could be a contributor to her mag. I am impressed. Feeling peachy myself.

Leave a Reply

