Painting and Playing

Playing and painting and then painting some more.  That’s what I’ve been up to around here and it’s been insanely fun, exhausting, frustrating, and satisfying to say the least.  I hope to have quite a few before and after’s to share with you all this week…stay tuned.  Plus, I’ve jumped into some upholstery projects….eeek.  I have this tendency to get in over my head at times and this is definitely one of them.  I mean why start with recovering a simple seat cushion when you can go straight to reupholstering a couch!?!  <said in my most sarcastic voice>  I am fully aware of this character trait of mine, but time and time again, I catch myself trying to do the most difficult task first, instead of building my way up to it and starting with the easier stuff.   You want to see what I’m working with?  Sorry for the horrid pictures…I was so excited to get started that I just snapped a few with my cell phone.

If you can get past the floral fabric, you can see that it really has beautiful lines.  I don’t know what you see when you look at her, but I kind of envision something like this.

via Home by Heidi

What?  A little far fetched for you?  Hey, go big or go home, right?  I will admit that it is a touch overwhelming and if only I had pictures to share of me trying with all my might to get every one of those dang upholstery staples out.  Upholsterers out there…my hat goes off to you…it’s such hard work.  However, I’m sure there are many tools out there that would help, but I have no idea what they are.  <Note to self…look up tools that might help in the reupholster project asap>

Sam saw the couch sitting in the garage and just gave me the head shake and laughed as he walked by.  He knows me all too well.  Any of you out there know anything about reupholstering or have a friend that knows what they are doing?  Wanna help a girl out with some tips or tricks?  This mama would GREATLY appreciate it!

6 thoughts on “Painting and Playing

  1. Hi Jesse! Wondering if you had made any more progress on recovering your couch? I am going to second the pneumatic staple gun. Not that I have one myself, but I just finished a project based on this tutorial, and she suggests one too. I think I’m going to give it serious consideration if I tackle another reupholstering project!

    • Oh Debbie! It is quite the site in my garage!?! It’s just been so hot that I can only handle going out there & ripping so many staples out before I call it a day! The tool I got really helps, but it takes A LOT of work! No wonder reupholsters charge so much! Everyone that stops by always asks ‘what IS that?!?’ when they see it! Lol! My vision is still there & I think it will be really cool when I finish it in 2 years! 😉

      • No it’s kind of like that…I got it from Joann’s & it looks like a screwdriver, but the end is in a “v” shape. It works really well…there is just about a million staples in the piece! :/

Leave a Reply

