First time for everything

Well, It’s about time…I can absolutely and officially cross “hang wallpaper myself” off my bucket list.  Here I am a few days away from turning 33 and I cannot believe that I have never done this before.  Well, I guess there is a first time for everything, right?  Was it difficult?  No, not really, but due to my choices in wallpaper, it was definitely tedious.  Thank God, I was only doing an accent wall.  I will post a step by step soon in case you are wanting to take the brave step into wallpapering, too.  But, right now, all I want to do is crawl into my bed and dream some sweet dreams.

Finally, Henry’s room redo is well underway and I cannot wait to see it all come together.  Here is a pic of the wall before.  

Aren’t you glad that I cleaned up for the before pics?  Good Lord, there are a lot of toys in there!?!  If you’ve been following along, you know that the first thing I did in this project was paint the walls. 

Then, today, I started to put up the wallpaper that I had picked out back in March (it has only taken me 3 months to do, but hey, who’s counting?).  Three hours later,  the entire wall was finished.  The hardest part about hanging this paper was lining up the pattern and when I say hard, I mean there may have been a few expletives thrown around in the conversation I was having with myself.

But, in my opinion, it was worth every bit of agony that this wallpaper pattern caused me.

Not only was this paper hard to line up, but it is also hard to photograph, so just bear these pictures.

The most important thing to me, though, was making sure this little guy loved it and love it he did.

So much so, that him and Oliver hung out in here the rest of the day.

And I just got to sit back and enjoy it all.

I did have to capture this look on Sam’s face when I told him that our room was next…

Ok, ok, one project at a time.  Poor Sam.  He has no idea that we are not done with this room…;D  More details to come…

13 thoughts on “First time for everything

  1. Very impressive. Talk about adding texture! Good work…can’t wait to see the rest of your plans for his room.

  2. Great job! I will be wallpapering for the first time in my office. Never done it before so if you want to post some advice that would be great! I’m going to need it!

    • How fun! What paper are you going with? I will warn you that after you see how quickly it can change a room, you may want to do a lot more of it!?! I would be lying if I said that I didn’t spend 2 hours of my precious time yesterday scouring my favorite wallpaper sites for more to use somewhere in my house…:/ I will definitely post some tips that help! My best advice though, is to schedule a time where your kids will be out of the house. When the paste is drying on you and the paper isn’t lining up, the last thing you want is someone asking you to get them new underwear because “a lil pee pee came out”…(yep that happened). I did this by myself because my sister who was going to help me had to stay home with her sick kids. It was fine by myself, but I think it would have been a touch easier to have a friend there to help and laugh at the amount of paste that ended up on the tarp! Cannot wait to see what you do!

      • Thanks for the info, Jesse! I am tinkering with the idea of using temporary wallpaper since I am just doing an accent wall in my personal office. I found a website for it, and they have some really fun patterns. I like that is says it is easily removed and adjustable….I am intrigued! I don’t know if that is the route I will go or not. Still have some research to do. Wow! It sounds like a glimpse in my life…haha! My youngest is 3 now, but every once in a while there is still a pee pee emergency!

      • I know I have looked at that, too! That’s what I am thinking for my next project. If you haven’t done so already, you should check out Casart Coverings. My friend, Lorre Lei is a great resource and would love to help you if you have any questions! They have a blog, too where you can see a lot more of their products in the rooms! I love Drysdale’s faux linen and Karen Robertson’s stripes. One that I have wanted to use for awhile now in the back of some bookshelves in my craft room is Flower Power. So fun and bold!

  3. Hey Jesse, thanks for the good words about Casart and I hope thriftykristy checks out our website. BTW, the wallpaper looks great, you did a fine job, and the most important thing is that it makes Henry happy. Do I dare say that I did chuckle at your description of the installation. Of course, with Casart you don’t have the mess of glue or paste and you can get your repeats lined up just fine, moving the Casart as much as needed. Would it be awful if I admit I was gloating a little or saying, “I told you so”? Seriously, Jesse, I’m including a link to this post in my Thursday post! Now, let’s talk before you do any more papering!

  4. Pingback: Slipcovers for Your Walls » Blog Archive » Oh No! Say It Isn’t So!

  5. Pingback: Having a thrifter’s eye | Scout & Nimble

Leave a Reply

