Beams on the Brain

via

I’ve got beams beams beams on the brain.  And I am finding it incredibly hard to make a decision on what to add to our ceiling in the living room.  If you are just joining me, my sweet and incredibly handsome hubby told me that we could tackle one of my many dream projects for our house.  Adding beams to our living room.  Ever since we moved in, I have always thought  the ceiling in our living room area could use some sort of pizazz, if you will…something to add a lil architectural interest.

St. Simons Island, GA mediterranean living room

via Houzz

I just adore homes that really incorporate the ceiling as a 5th wall.  Whether it’s painted, planked or pimped out with rustic beams, I’m all over it.  laquered ceiling

via Elle Decor

I cannot tell you how many times I have sat on our couch and stared at our blank canvas of a ceiling daydreaming about what I would do to it if I was given the chance to freshen it up.  And now the time is here and I am questioning every idea that pops into my noggin.

I mean once it’s done, it’s done.  Wow…I’m really whipping out the brilliant statements now.  Everyone get out your pens and paper, you are going to want to remember that.  What I mean is, it’s not like a paint color, where if you hate it, you just paint over it.  This is going to require A LOT of energy to put up and I cannot have one of my typical moments where I turn my head to the side and say “hmmmmm I’m not sure…”  I can just picture my poor husband standing there looking at me with that face…you know the one.  I think I have posted it on here before.  Something like this

or possibly like this?

But, this last one is doubtful because chances are he won’t be able to lift his arms up due to the fact that he will have had them up for 2 days nailing wood to the ceiling.  They will most likely be mush or feel like dead weights.

So you can understand how I cannot put my patient husband through that.  I need to get this exactly right.  One chance is all I get with this project.  Talk about pressure.  Cue the “pump me up” music, cause things have got to start happening!  For all of you just shaking your heads,  I know in the grand scheme of things, this is not life or death…it’s just beams, but I want to get it right, ya know.  I have seen some crazy ceilings where you can see maybe what they were going for, but it just didn’t get executed right.  I don’t want our fifth wall to be a big oh flop.

So, this is what I have been doing to make sure I get it right.  I have compiled pictures of my dream beams.  Thank you, Pinterest, for making it so easy and if you follow me, sorry for the mass attack of ceilings I’ve made you suffer through.  If all was right in the world, I would love to have something like this in my house.

via Pinterest (couldn’t find the original link)

Or this

via Jessica Helgeron

or even this

via Country Living

But the more I looked at our living room and tried to picture something like this, it felt like these beams were trying too hard.  I want to walk into my home and have it all look like it belongs together…where each component adds to the the overall space.  I don’t want something screaming to be noticed.  And I couldn’t help but feel like if we did big rustic natural beams they would do exactly that.  People would notice them right when they took a step in, comment on how great they are and then look at the rest of the room and turn their head to the side in confusion.  (Can you tell that I have been thinking at great length about this?)  I realize I have issues, people.

Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing I love more than big rustic wood beams.  They make my heart skip a beat…my “pins” should certainly tell you that I really really wanted rustic natural beams.  But, every single time I looked across the span of our house, my brain kept telling me clean, classic, and white.  Thanks brain, but my heart was saying big, rustic, and natural.  Follow your heart, blah blah blah blah blah…but I thought I would give my brain the benefit of the doubt and pin some clean, classic and white ceilings.

via Decor Pad

As I was pinning these pictures, I started to realize that this might be exactly what I was looking for.

Photobucket

via

there is just something I love about this pic..the soft pic, mixture of styles & elements...makes me want to sit here

via

Then I thought maybe I could have the best of both worlds.  What about adding the white planks AND the rustic beams.  Something like this, maybe?

both via Decor Pad

As beautiful as these two rooms are, there was just something off when I tried to picture it in our home.  So, back to the white planks and and white beams.

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

I looked at these for awhile and then I knew something like this was it.  They go with the style of our home, would add architectural interest, and still make our open floor plan feel open but maybe a little more intimate.

Well, at least I hope…next step is ordering the white planks….eeek!!!  Where is that pump me up music???

12 thoughts on “Beams on the Brain

  1. I’m a huge fan of the white planks! I like the rustic beams too, but white planks are more my personal style and I think they will look absolutely STUNNING in your home Jesse!!

  2. I think Sam has made that face at me once or twice when I needed his “help”. Love the white…great fresh look…I am sure you will make it FAB!

  3. Beautiful images! I really like the white planks and rustic beams combo — I think I may have to do something like it in our kitchen (when we eventually get around to fixing it up). Good luck adding beams/planks to your home 🙂

Leave a Reply

