Normalcy

Is there even such a thing???  These past few weeks have been insane and I keep thinking

we’re just getting back into the swing of a routine…

once this project is finished, things will go back to normal

but, I think this is our new normal.  Utter chaos.  Through this chaos, I have realized that I.cannot.do.it.all.  I need help.  I need to let things go, which might involve taking the easy road every once in awhile.  This can be rather difficult for me to do considering I tend to have supermom expectations set for myself.  So, I do what I do best…I resist giving in, resist the urge to give up control, resist asking for help until I find myself in tears feeling like I am being ungrateful and missing the big picture in life.  Finally, I wise up…I throw up my hands and surrender becoming fully aware of my limitations.  Amazingly enough, after this everything gets better.  Only after letting go, am I able to slow down and enjoy those little ‘in between’ moments.  

Even when those in between moments look like this…

I begin to, once again, discover the beauty in things…things that just a day earlier I would have passed without a second thought.

It’s amazing how once our cup is filled, we are able to move forward with a better perspective. So, sorry, I’ve been MIA…I’ve just been trying to get my head around enjoying our new normal.

3 thoughts on “Normalcy

  1. I hear you, Jesse! I don’t see how you accomplish all that you do. Sometimes it takes a situation over which you have absolutely no control to happen to make you stop and re-evaluate priorities and accept that you are only human and not superhuman. Check my post today for an “Isaac” example of what I mean. http://www.casartcoverings.com/casartblog/hurricane-isaac-and-me/ I’m a Scorpio and a control freak. What’s your excuse? (JK!)

    • Haha! I’m a Cancer…control freak at heart! 😉 So I can add “stubborn” to that list which may explain why I have to learn this lesson over & over again. 😉 I cannot imagine what you guys have been through! You sound as though you made the best of each situation…I cannot imagine being in your place during Betsy!?! Incredible that you did all that with a 6 month old! Wow. I’m so glad that things are starting to get back to “normal” for you!

  2. I cannot imagine what you guys have been through! You sound as though you made the best of each situation…I cannot imagine being in your place during Betsy!?! Incredible that you did all that with a 6 month old! Wow.

Leave a Reply

