A Room Makeover in Real Time

You all know I love a good before and after.  No matter what the subject, there is nothing like seeing a transformation take place.  I typically really like the surprise makeovers where you see a before and then are blindsided with the after.  You know the ones where it doesn’t even look like the same room, piece of furniture or person and forces you to really inspect.  However, the downside to this type of makeover is that it can sometimes seem effortless…like it was easy and happened overnight.  What about all the nitty gritty details?  What about all the oops moments, or the “Houston, we have a problem” surprises that accompany any project or change?  I think it’s sometimes nice to have the behind the scene look at the whole process.

So why are we talking about this?  Well, our master bedroom is in need of some fixing up and I thought it might be fun to take you through the makeover process in real time.  It could be two weeks <very unlikely> or it could be two years <let’s hope not>.

And as in any makeover, it always starts with the before pictures.  Not pin-worthy by any stretch of the imagination.  And just so you are aware, this room, in all of the 7 years we’ve been here, has never officially been completed.  It’s always been last on our list…poor guy at the bottom of the totem pole, which is really terrible since your bedroom is supposed to be your haven.  Ours, clearly, does not fit this description.

I do need to tell you that some items in these pictures are part of the transformation.  The duvet cover is new and kind of the inspiration for the room.  It is Lauren Ralph Lauren’s Northern Cape Bedding.  I found it at Marshall’s for less than $150.  Pretty good considering the one at Bloomingdale’s is $495 for a king.  I also moved this desk into the room when I knew I was going to give this room an overhaul.  And did you see that little leather ottoman…I found that at a flea market for $15.

It is staying.  I love the warmth of the leather and how sturdy it is (the boys actually love jumping from it showing off their super cool ninja moves and kicks).  But, the best part about this lil guy is the memories he stirs up for me.  He reminds me these little leather seats that were at my childhood local library.  There were orange ones and green ones all over the children’s section just waiting for a child with a book.  The library was always one of my favorite places to visit and I loved when my mom would take me there.  When I saw this ottoman it brought back so many memories.  I  remembered the heaviness of the front doors, the scent that hit you when you walked through them, and the feeling of pure joy as I would run back to “my section” to search for some great reads.  You can see why I had to have this ottoman and I about freaked out when I saw the price tag.  You see, it’s the little things like this that make a room for me.  To anyone else, it might just be a used ottoman, but to me it is so much more.  Not to get all sentimental about an ottoman on ya, but sometimes it’s not about what would coordinate perfectly with the room or the hottest items on the shelves…it’s about the stories behind the pieces.

So, there you have it…the start of our makeover.  We are $165 in and I’m hoping we can keep it below $400 for everything.  It’s going to be hard when I have had my eyes on this wallpaper in white for months now…it is absolutely positively out of the question, but a girl can dream, right?

One thought on “A Room Makeover in Real Time

Leave a Reply

